Six different safety levels

Otiom has six different safety levels, which are controlled from the Otiom app. The six levels ensure that the person with dementia, their relatives or caregivers can find a safety setting that fits almost any everyday situation.

Otiom's safety levels explained

In this video, we explain the six different safety levels in the Otiom-app.

Safety level 1

Optimal level for persons in the early stages of dementia. For example, this could be a person who still goes to work and has a normal day at home.

Safety level 2

Optimal level if there is no need to limit where the person can go. For example, this could be a person with early-stage dementia and an active life.

The Otiom-tag triggers an alarm if the person is away from home for over six hours.

If you are worried that the person with dementia may leave home late in the evening or at night, we recommend not using level 2. If level 2 is the best choice during the day, we suggest switching to a different safety level at night.

Safety level 3

Optimal level for persons with dementia who have a daily routine of less than three hours. Level 3 is therefore a good choice for people who might go on long walks or visit the activity centre.

Level 3 is a combination of a time-limited period and a geographic safety zone. The person can therefore move about freely outside their home for three hours before the tag triggers an alarm. You decide where the safety zone should be. If the user leaves the safety zone, the tag triggers an alarm.

If you use level 3, the alarm is activated if:

The person has been away from home for over three hours or

The person moves outside the safety zone you defined.

Safety level 4

Optimal level for persons with dementia who have short daily routines outside the home – e.g. brief visits to the neighbour or a short walk in the local area.

At level 4, the alarm triggers if the person spends more than an hour in a safety zone outside the home.

However, the alarm triggers right away if the person leaves the safety zone.

Safety level 5

Level 5 is an extension of the home zone. This level is for people who need to move about freely, for example in the home and garden, at the nursing home or on their road. You decide where and how large the safety zone should be.

Level 5 is therefore suited for a person with serious dementia symptoms who nonetheless likes moving around on their own. Safety level 5 triggers an alarm right away if the person leaves the area in which he/she is normally in.

Safety level 6

At level 6, Otiom provides the highest state of alert. Use level 6 for a person who is not capable of coping outside the home. This setting may become necessary later during the course of the dementia, when you are concerned that the person may not be able to find their way back if they step outside.

At level 6, you receive an alarm when the person leaves home.